Book Review: Into the Light

Into the Light (The Light #1)

Author: Aleatha Romig

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Release Date: 14th June 2016

Genre: Suspense / Thriller / Mystery

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

4stars

Synopsis

Sara Adams awakes blind, unable to remember the most basic details of her life, but her darkness seems a blessing when she discovers the terrors of The Light.

Stella Montgomery investigates the news on the mean streets of Detroit, where she’s noticed a disturbing trend: young women are vanishing. When her best friend disappears, Stella investigates—despite warnings from her police detective boyfriend—following a twisted trail that leads her through the city’s most dangerous and forsaken precincts. There she uncovers something more sinister than she could have imagined: a shadowy organization known as The Light, led by the enigmatic Father Gabriel.

As Sara struggles to understand her place in the strange world she’s awakened to—an oppressive cult demanding unquestioning obedience—and her feelings for Jacob, the husband she can’t recall and whose harsh and tender attentions confuse and beguile her, Stella risks all to discover the truth. But enlightenment always comes with a price…

unnamed5

About the Author

Aleatha Romig is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Indiana. She grew up in Mishawaka, graduated from Indiana University, and is currently living south of Indianapolis. Aleatha has raised three children with her high school sweetheart and husband of nearly thirty years. Before she became a full-time author, she worked days as a dental hygienist and spent her nights writing. Now, when she’s not imagining mind-blowing twists and turns, she likes to spend her time a with her family and friends. Her other pastimes include reading and creating heroes/anti-heroes who haunt your dreams!
Aleatha released her first novel, CONSEQUENCES, in August of 2011, which became a bestseller. In 2014 she released TALES FROM THE DARK SIDE, INSIDIOUS and then headed into the world of dark romance with BETRAYAL, the first of her five novel INFIDELITY series.
Aleatha is a “Published Author’s Network” member of the Romance Writers of America and represented by Danielle Egan-Miller of Browne & Miller Literary Associates.

My Review

Although this book started off slowly, it built such suspense and mystery that I felt like I was reading the last 100 pages with my breath held. The ending is so good, I didn’t see it coming and the cliffhanger is making me curse the author for making me wait until the second book!

Aleatha Romig has stated that there will be two books of “The Light” series, and the second will wrap up this story; however she may still write books within the world she has created.

Romig is not a newcomer by any means but I haven’t read her other offerings (nor had I even heard of her before this book, I’m sorry to say) so I can’t compare her writing against previous titles. I really enjoyed this book so I will try to read her other work at some point.

It’s hard to explain what I really liked about this story without giving too much away, and you really can’t have this spoiled for you! It’s written from multiple POVs in first person and that works so well for this story. Honestly, my interest was piqued when I saw this was about a cult because I love reading about cults/sects/movements etc. It sounds like I’m a weirdo (and I probably am) but I wonder how people can be taken in by cults and how the leaders can be so persuasive with their beliefs. The psychology of it just fascinates me, and reading it from a first person perspective made it seem more human and not just informative. This is a great story told by people within the fictitious cult and outsiders looking in. (I’m calling it fictitious because I think it’s meant to be, although there is possibly a cult in Manhattan called the Light, they seem to have different beliefs and, let’s face it, The Light is such a cult-y name I’m surprised there’s not a ton of them.)

Some have cited this book as a romantic suspense/thriller and I maybe wouldn’t describe it as that if it wasn’t for the numerous sex scenes. I’m no prude but I did kind of feel that so much detail was unnecessary. Whilst I understand that the relationships were developing within the story, I wasn’t reading this for a Mills & Boon kind of moment, I just wanted to get on with the story and the steamy parts were a little too cliched and overdone for my liking.

The pacing of the story was great, allowing intrigue to build the entire time. I had actually forgotten that it was supposed to be a two-part story and as I was getting closer to the end, I kept thinking that it would start to wrap up. When it didn’t, I was given a few surprises and was then thrown to the edge of a cliff and dangled – that’s when I saw the last page “UNTIL…Away from the Dark. Book Two of The Light Series.” and so here I am clinging with white knuckles until the next installment comes to save me!


Disclaimer: I received an eARC from Netgalley in order to read and review this book honestly. Many thanks to the publisher and the author for the opportunity to read this.


Daayla

Bloglovin’TwitterInstagramFacebookPinterest

 

Save

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Into the Light

Leave a Reply

