Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

The Woman in Cabin 10

Author: Ruth Ware

Publisher: Gallery/Scout Press, Vintage Digital

Release Date: 30th June/19th July 2016

Genre: Mystery / Thriller / Suspense

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

3-out-of-5

Synopsis

This was meant to be the perfect trip.

The Northern Lights. A luxury press launch on a boutique cruise ship.

A chance for travel journalist Lo Blackwood to recover from a traumatic break-in that has left her on the verge of collapse, and to work out what she wants from her relationship.

Except things don’t go as planned.

Woken in the night by screams, Lo rushes to her window to see a body thrown overboard from the next door cabin. But the records show that no-one ever checked into that cabin, and no passengers are missing from the boat.

Exhausted, emotional and increasingly desperate, Lo has to face the fact that she may have made a terrible mistake. Or she is trapped on a boat with a murderer – and she is the sole witness…

About The Author

Ruth Ware grew up in Sussex, on the south coast of England. After graduating from Manchester University she moved to Paris, before settling in North London. She has worked as a waitress, a bookseller, a teacher of English as a foreign language and a press officer. She is married with two small children, and In a Dark, Dark Wood is her début thriller.

My Review

For a 3 star review, you’d think that I didn’t really like this book but actually, I did enjoy it. I just didn’t LOVE it. There isn’t anything particularly stand out about it and just felt like another book living in the shadow of Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train.

I thought the writing was good and I did like the main character of Lo for the most part, but then she started to grate on me. The other characters were not very developed and I’m guessing this was supposed to add to the “mystery” of who could have done it but it just felt a little flat. The entire time I was thinking that I was reading Cluedo on a boat, and whilst the Agatha Christie influence may be a plus for some people, it isn’t my thing.

I was starting to feel like things were plodding slowly along when I got to about 70% in and it did start to ramp up, which I enjoyed, although the “twists” were kind of predictable and I saw them coming a mile off (even the “big” twist that I think was supposed to be a gasp moment of surprise).

One thing I did really like was the clever way of slicing in of messages/news reports and this helped to keep it modern rather than going full Agatha Christie. As I said before, I did enjoy this book overall, I just had a few problems that lowered my rating for it and I was a little disappointed after there was quite a bit of buzz and anticipation for it; The Woman in Cabin 10 just didn’t really deliver.


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to Netgalley, the publisher and author for giving me the opportunity.


Daayla

Bloglovin’TwitterInstagramFacebookPinterest

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

  1. I am sorry that this one wasn’t for you Daayla.

    This book has really been hyped. The fact that I know a number of people like me who couldn’t even get it on Netgalley just heightened the anticipation. Thanks for the review,at least I know what to expect if I get to read it. Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

